Monday, May 26, 2008

The Bangkok Banks

Bangkok Banks Business Hours:

Most commercial concerns in Bangkok operate on a five-day week, usually from 8 am to 5 pm. Many stores open seven days a week from 10 am to 10 pm. Government offices are generally open between 8.30 am and 4.30 pm with a noon to 1 pm lunch break, Monday to Friday except on public holidays. Banks are open Mondays to Fridays from 9.30 am to 3.30 pm except on public holidays.

List of main Bangkok Banks

1. Bangkok Bank Public Company Ltd.
2.The Bangkok Bank of Commerce, Ltd. Public Company ltd.
3. Krung Thai Bank Public Company Ltd.
4. Bank of Ayudhya Public Company Ltd.
5.Thai Farmers Bank Public Company Ltd.
6.The Thai Military Bank Public Company Ltd.
7.The Thai Danu Bank Public Company Ltd.
8.The Siam Commercial Bank Public Company Ltd.
9. Siam City Bank Public Company Ltd.
10.First Bangkok City Bank Public Company Ltd.
11.Bangkok Metropolitan Bank Public Company Ltd.
12.The Union Bank of Bangkok Public Company Ltd.
13. Nakornthon Bank Public Company Ltd.
14.The Laem Thong Bank Public Company Ltd.
15. Bank of Asia Public Company Ltd.

Currency and Currency exchange :

The thai unit of currency is the baht 1 baht is divided into 100 satang. Note are in denominations of 1,000 (brown), 500 (purple), 100 (red), 50 (blue), 20 (green) and 10 (brown) baht. Coins consist of 25 satang, 50 satang, 1 baht, 5 baht and 10 baht.

Major currency bills and travellers cheques are cashed easily at hotels, tourist shops, all provincial banks, shopping centres and money changers.Travellers cheques are best changed in banks (you will need your passport). Rates of exchange at banks or authorised money changers are better than those at hotels and department stores.

Any amount of foreign currency may be brought into the country. Visitors may take foreign currency out of Thailand, but no more than the amount stated in the customs declaration made on arrival. Travellers leaving Thailand may take out no more than 50,000 baht per person in Thai currency.

No comments: