Thursday, June 5, 2008

Amphoe Ko Yao

Amphoe Ko Yao (Thai: เกาะยาว) is a district (Amphoe) in the province Phang Nga in the south of Thailand.

The minor district (King Amphoe) Ko Yao was established in 1903 as a subordinate of Mueang Phang Nga district. On January 1 1988 it was upgraded to a full district

The district covers several islands of the Ko Yao archipelago within the Phang Nga Bay, near the island of Phuket. The two main islands are named Ko Yao Yai and Ko Yao Noi (big long island and small long island).

The northern tips of the islands are part of the Ao Pang Nga National Park.

The district is subdivided into 3 subdistricts (tambon), which are further subdivided into 18 villages (muban). Ko Yao itself has township (thesaban tambon) status, which covers parts of tambon Ko Yao Noi. There are further 3 Tambon administrative organization (TAO).

No. Name Thai name Villages Inh.
1. Ko Yao Noi เกาะยาวน้อย 7 4,644
2. Ko Yao Yai เกาะยาวใหญ่ 4 2,551
3. Phru Nai พรุใน 7 5,549

No comments: